Team Spotlight: Oakland Athletics

Posted on July 10 2020

The Oakland Athletics, or The A's, as they are frequently referred to, are a baseball team belonging to the MLB, West Division, and the American League. You may also hear them referred to as The Green and Gold, the Elephants, the White Elephants, or the Swinging A's. Though their ballpark is currently the Oakland Coliseum, additional places the team called home are as follows:

  • 1901 to 1908 – Columbia Park
  • 1909 to 1954 – Shibe Park
  • 1955 to 1967 – Municipal Stadium

As you may have already guessed from one of the nicknames for the team, their colors are green, gold, and white, and their mascot is an elephant. Let's find out a little bit more about this team and then examine some of their best players throughout history.

Oakland Athletics

A Look at the Front Office

The following are personnel involved with the Oakland Athletics:

  • Billy Beane – President of Baseball Operations
  • David Frost – General Manager
  • Bob Melvin – Manager
  • John J. Fisher – Owner

Major League Titles Won By the A's

The list here is long, so hold onto your hats! (Your Oakland A baseball caps, that is.)

  • 4 Wild card births: 2019, 2018, 2014, and 2001.
  • 16 West Division titles: 2013, 2012, 2006, 2003, 2002, 2000, 1992, 1990, 1989, 1988, 1981, 1975, 1974, 1973, 1972, and 1971.
  • 15 AL Pennants: 1990, 1989, 1988, 1974, 1973, 1972, 1931, 1930, 1929, 1914, 1913, 1911, 1910, 1905, and 1902.
  • 9 World Series Titles: 1989, 1974, 1973, 1972, 1930, 1929, 1913, 1911, and 1910.

Note: The overall win loss record for the Athletics, from 1901 to 2019, is 9,028 – 9,452.

The History of the A's

Originally founded as the Philadelphia Athletics, 1901 was the year it all started. They won three back to back titles beginning in 1910 and managed the same feat from 1929 to 1930. Connie Mack was the manager and owner of the team for its first 50 years.

The name of the team was changed to the Kansas City Athletics after a 1955 move to Kansas City. In 1968, the team moved to Oakland and the name was, appropriately, changed again.

Hall of Famers

For the Philadelphia Athletics, Hall of Famer's were as follows:

  • Lefty Grove
  • Jimmie Foxx
  • Frank “Home Run” Baker
  • Chief Bender

Oakland A's Hall of Famers:

  • Walter A, Haas, Junior – former owner
  • Mark McGuire – Athletics all-time leader for home runs
  • Bert “Campy" Campaneris – six time All-Star
  • Vida Blue – MVP and Cy Young Award winner
  • Tony La Russa – manager from 1986 to 1995

Get Your Oakland A's Hat At Hat Heaven

Hat Heaven is family-owned and operated. We are located in South Bronx and have been for over 30 years. But you don't have to drive all the way to our store, search endlessly for a parking spot, and walk around aimlessly to shop our impressive selection. Stroll through our online site at your leisure and take your time choosing just the right hat or hats.

Whether you're shopping for an Oakland Athletics cap, or a cap representing another sport or team, we've got the hat you're looking for.


Subtotal: $0.00

Your cart is currently empty.