Team Spotlight: Milwaukee Brewers

Posted on February 04 2021

Based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, The American professional team known as the Milwaukee Brewers compete as members of the NL (National League) Central division in the MLB (Major League Baseball). In association with the city of Milwaukee's brewing industry, the team is aptly named. Though it has gone through several name changes through the years, with a seating capacity of 41,900, home games are played by the Brewers since 2001 at American Family Field.

Formally, as the Seattle Pilots, the team was founded in 1969 as an AL (American League) expansion team. Sick’s Stadium is where they played their home games as the Pilots. It only took one season, however, for them to become the Milwaukee Brewers and relocate. Milwaukee County Stadium is where their home games were played thereafter. They are the only franchise, since the advent of MLB divisional play (1969) to play in four different divisions. They are also, along with the Houston Astros, one of two current franchises in the MLB to switch leagues in their history.

Team Spotlight Milwaukee Brewers.

Milwaukee Brewers Accomplishments And Notoriety

One and only appearance in the World Series: 1982

In all, the world series has never been won by six MLB teams – the Brewers are one of those.

MLB MVP awards – 4:

  • Christian Yelich (National League) 2018
  • Ryan Braun (National League) 2011
  • Robin Yount (American League) 1982 and 1989
  • Rollie Fingers (American League) 1981

American League Cy Young Award – 2 pitchers:

  • Pete Vuvkovich – 1982
  • Rollie Fingers – 1981

Rookie of the Year – 3:

  • Devon Williams – 2020 (National League)
  • Ryan Braun – 2007 (National League)
  • Pat Listach – 1992 (American League)

National League Batting title: The first ever Milwaukee Brewers batting title in history was won in 2018 by Christian Yelich.

Hall of Famers

The following Milwaukee Brewers have been inducted into the Baseball Hall Of Fame:

  • Robin Yount
  • Don Sutton
  • Ted Simmons
  • Bud Selig
  • Paul Molitor
  • Trevor Hoffman
  • Rollie Fingers
  • Hank Aaron

Retired Numbers

In addition to retiring Jackie Robinson's number 42, which was done league wide, the Milwaukee Brewers have retired the following numbers:

  • Hank Aaron – number 44 (1976)
  • Rollie Fingers – number 34 (1992)
  • Robin Yount – number 19 (1994)
  • Paul Molitor – number 4 (1999)
  • Owner Bud Selig – number 1 (2015)

Since Jim Gantner's 1992 retirement, his number – 17 – has been out of circulation, but not officially retired. When he returned as a first-base coach, from 1996 to 1997, his number was reissued. But only for that time.

Wisconsin Athletic Hall of Fame

The following brewers are in the Wisconsin Athletic Hall Of Fame:

  • Broadcaster Bob Uecker
  • Hank Aaron
  • Rollie Fingers
  • Harvey Kuenn
  • Robin Yount
  • Cecil Cooper
  • Jim Gantner
  • Paul Molitor
  • Gorman Thomas
  • Owner Bud Selig

Where to Find Your Favorite Team Baseball Caps

When it comes to baseball style caps, we've got you covered – literally! With brands like KB Ethos, Field Grade, 47 Brand, Mitchell and Ness, and New Era, we stock some of the most high-quality and well-known cap manufacturers.

Caps from Hat Heaven can be shipped to customers around the world. Visit our website today and find your favorite Milwaukee Brewers cap – whether you go with the nostalgic baseball mitt insignia or the modern “M” logo!


Subtotal: $0.00

Your cart is currently empty.