Team Spotlight: Golden State Warriors

Posted on May 03 2020

Before the 1971 to 1972 season began, the brand name “Golden State Warriors” was adopted by the franchise. As a representation of the whole state of California, it was suggested the name be all-inclusive, rather than singling out one city or area. For the season just mentioned, almost every game was played in Oakland, one in Daly City or San Francisco, and six in San Diego. In 1972, exclusively, the home court for the Warriors became Oakland Arena.

Now let's take a look at some other significant aspects where the Golden State Warriors are concerned.


From the BAA to the National Basketball Association

Also known as the NBA, the National Basketball Association’s Western Conference Pacific Division is where the league calls home. Originally, when the team was first established with Philadelphia as a base, the Philadelphia Warriors came into existence in 1946. They were, in fact, a founding member of the BAA (Basketball Association of America). The franchise moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in 1962 and adopted the name San Francisco Warriors. The “Golden State” part of their name was changed in 1971, but "Dubs" is the team's nickname.

Why "The Warriors"

Before being displaced by the British colonists, the Delaware Indians inhabited Philadelphia. The name “Warriors” is said to annotate this historical connection.

Championship Years

Four NBA championships have been achieved by the Golden State Warriors for the following years:

  • 1975
  • 2015
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • (the Philadelphia Warriors enjoyed a championship in 1956)

Team Arenas

There are numerous arenas in which the team has played under its various names:


  • Philadelphia Arena from 1946 to 1962
  • Philadelphia Convention Hall from 1952 to 1962

San Francisco

  • Cow Palace from 1962 to 1964
  • San Francisco Civic Auditorium and USF War Memorial Gymnasium from 1964 to 1966
  • Cow Palace from 1966 to 1971


  • Oakland Alameda County Coliseum Marina from 1971 to 1996
  • The Arena in Oakland from 1997 to 2005
  • Oakland Arena from 2005 to 2006
  • Oracle Arena from 2006 To 2019

Team Owners

In addition to going through any number of arenas, the team – under various names – has had its share of owners as well:

  • Pete Tyrell from 1946 to 1952 (Philadelphia)
  • Eddie Gottlieb from 1952 to 1962 (Philadelphia)
  • Frank Mieuli from 1962 to 1986
  • Jim Fitzgerald from 1986 to 1995
  • Chris Cohan from 1995 to 2010
  • Joe Lacob and Peter Gruber from 2010 to present

Greatest Warriors of All Time

The following are thought to be the best players in the history of the Warriors:

  • Wilt Chamberlain – 112.4 win shares, 3.0 EPG, 25.1 RPG, 41.5 PPG
  • Stephan Curry – 93.3 win shares, 4.4 RPG, 6.8 APG, 23.1 PPG
  • Rick Barry – 85.9 win shares, 5.1 APG, 7.3 RPG, 25.6 PPG
  • Paul Arizin – 108.8 win shares, 2.3 APG, 8.6 RPG, 22.8 PPG
  • Neil Johnston – 92.0 win shares, 2.5 APG, 11.3 RPG, 19.4 PPG
  • Chris Mullin – 79.6 win shares, 3.9 APG, 4.4 RPG, 20.1 PPG
  • Kevin Durrant – 22.4 win shares, 5.1 APG, 7.5 RPG, 25.7 PPG
  • Nate Thurmond – 68.6 win shares, 2.7 APG, 16.9 RPG, 17.4 PPG
  • Clay Thompson – 41.5 win shares, 2.3 APG, 3.4 RPG, 19.2 PPG
  • Draymond Green – 39.0 win shares, 1.1 BPG, 1.4 SPG, 4.6 APG, 6.9 RPG, 9.3 PPG

Get Your Warriors Cap At Hat Heaven

A family operated and owned store, Hat Heaven has been supplying people with their favorite hats for over three decades. Our South Bronx located operation is now able to supply hat lovers all over the world thanks to our web store. We've got your favorite teams – visit our website today!


Subtotal: $0.00

Your cart is currently empty.